Winner of Valarie Farag Music Award 2023

Karim Nasr music student winner of Valarie Farag Music Award for 2023

The Valerie Farag Music Award is a cash award conferred at every commencement to an outstanding AUC graduate with a major or minor in Music Performance or Music Technology. 

Valerie Farag joined the faculty at the American University in Cairo in 1981, after teaching at Tulane University and Dunbarton College. She was the first person to teach courses in music at AUC, and she continued to do so for the next three decades. She also presented numerous recitals as a soprano soloist in Oriental Hall, Ewart Memorial Hall, and the Falaki Theater at the AUC Tahrir campus. Her passion and dedication were instrumental to establishing the Music Program at AUC. This award was established to commemorate her memory.

The winner is chosen by a committee of three faculty from the Department of the Arts on the basis of their musical and academic skills and contribution to the Music Program and other art-related student activities.

This year's winner is Karim Nasr expressed his surprise and joy in receiving the award.

"I am really happy to have won the Valarie Farag Music Award. HUSS's Music department gives us the courage and experience to expand our horizons beyond academics. I am glad I was given the opportunity to explore what I am truly passionate about."